Wednesday, May 18, 2016

The First All-Madden Team - 1984

By John Turney

In 1984, Madden took the advice of lifelong friend and Rams coach John Robinson and created the "All-Madden" team. It purported to be players that Madden thought best represented pro football and played the game the way he thought it should be played.


Joe Montana - 49ers

Credit: Merv Corning
Running Backs
Eric Dickerson - Rams
Walter Payton - Bears
John Riggins - Redskins

Credit: Merv Corning
Wide Receivers
Dwight Clark - 49ers
Roy Green - Cardinals

Credit: Merv Corning
Offensive Line
Bill Bain - Rams
Joe Fields - Jets
Russ Grimm - Redskins
Joe Jacoby - Redskins
Henry Lawrence - Raiders

Defensive Line
Richard Dent - Bears
Dan Hampton - Bears
Al Harris - Bears

Dave Logan - Buccaneers
Howie Long - Raiders
Steve McMichael - Bears
Jack Youngblood - Rams

Credits: Merv Corning
E.J. Junior - Cardinals
Jack Reynolds - 49ers
Mike Singletary - Bears
Lawrence Taylor - Giants

Credit: Merv Corning
Defensive Backs
Todd Bell - Bears
Lester Hayes - Raiders
Mike Haynes - Raiders
Donnie Shell - Steelers
Eric Wright - 49ers

Credit: Merv Corning
Special Teams
Pat Summerall - Giants
Otis Wonsley - Redskins 


  1. Really enjoying the blog and this is a great find! Would it be possible to post any of Dr. Z's pre-SI All-Pro teams?


  2. Sdb 26544 email me at I will send you Dr Z's pre-SI AllPro teams, they go from 1968-78

  3. This is an incredible blog. Thank You.