Thursday, January 28, 2016

Super Bowl Golden Team, Plus the Dream Team (1999), Silver Team (1990) and All-Time Team (1985)

by John Turney
Silver Anniversary Super Bowl Team Art credit: Cliff Spohn
Today, the NFL announced the 50th Anniversary Super Bowl Team. So, here it is along with three other Super Bowl teams announced at various times. The 25th Anniversary Team was chosen by fan voters (over one million cast) and players were nominated by the Hall of Fame voting committee). The Super Bowl Dream Team was an official fan poll and the 1985 All-Time Super Bowl Team was chosen by 16 writers who had covered all the Super Bowls at that time and was published in the Miami Herald.
NFL announces Super Bowl “Golden Team"
Jan. 28, 2016 
Joe Montana, QB; Jay Novacek, TE; Emmitt Smith, Franco Harris, RB; Lynn Swann, Jerry Rice, WR; Mike Webster, C; Art Shell, Forrest Gregg, T; Gene Upshaw, Larry Allen, G.
Reggie White. Charles Haley, DE; Joe Greene, Randy White, DT; Lawrence Taylor, Jack Ham, OLB; Ray Lewis, Jack Lambert, ILB; Mel Blount, Deion Sanders, CB; Ronnie Lott, Jake Scott, S.
Adam Vinatieri, PK; Ray Guy, P; Desmond Howard, KR.

Credit: NFL Pro Set
Super Bowl's Silver Anniversary Team
December 12, 1990

Head coach -- Vince Lombardi (Packers)
Wide receivers -- Lynn Swann (Steelers), Jerry Rice (49ers).
Tight end -- Dave Casper (Raiders).
Tackles -- Art Shell (Raiders), Forrest Gregg (Packers, Cowboys)
Guards -- Gene Upshaw (Raiders), Jerry Kramer (Packers).
Center -- Mike Webster (Steelers).
Quarterback -- Joe Montana (49ers).
Running backs -- Franco Harris (Steelers), Larry Csonka (Dolphins).
Kicker -- Jan Stenerud (Chiefs).
Kick returner -- John Taylor (49ers).
Ends -- L.C. Greenwood (Steelers), Ed "Too Tall" Jones Cowboys).
Tackles -- Joe Greene (Steelers), Randy White (Cowboys).
Outside linebackers -- Jack Ham (Steelers), Ted Hendricks (Colts, Raiders).
Inside linebackers -- Jack Lambert (Steelers), Mike Singletary (Bears).
Cornerbacks -- Ronnie Lott (49ers), Mel Blount (Steelers).
Safeties -- Donnie Shell (Steelers), Willie Wood (Packers).
Punter -- Ray Guy (Oakland Raiders).
Credit: Merv Corning

1999's Super Bowl Dream Team
QB - Joe Montana
RB - Franco Harris and Emmitt Smith
WR- Jerry Rice and Lynn Swann
TE - Jay Novacek
G – Nate Newton and Gene Upshaw
T - Anthony Munoz and Joe Jacoby
C - Mike Webster

DE - Reggie White and Charles Haley
LB -Jack Lambert, Lawrence Taylor, Mike Singletary, and Ray Nitschke
DT - Mean Joe Greene
CB - Mel Blount and Eric Wright
S - Ronnie Lott and Donnie Shell

Sp. Teams
KR/PR - Desmond Howard
K – Ray Wersching
P- Ray Guy
Coach - Chuck Noll

Credit: NFL Pro Set

WR -- Lynn Swann, Steelers 75-76-79-80 
WR -- John Stallworth, Steelers 75-76-79-80 
T -- Forrest Gregg, Packers 67-68 
T -- Dave Herman, Jets 69 
G -- Bob Kuechenberg, Dolphins 72-73-74-82 
G -- Jerry Kramer, Packers 67-68 
C -- Jim Langer, Dolphins 72-73-74 
TE -- Dan Ross, Bengals 82 
QB -- Terry Bradshaw, Steelers 75-76-79-80 
FB -- Larry Csonka, Dolphins 72-74 
RB -- Marcus Allen, Raiders 84 
PK -- Jan Stenerud, Chiefs 70 Defense

DE -- L.C. Greenwood, Steelers 75-76-79-80 
DE -- Willie Davis, Packers 67-68 
DT -- Randy White, Cowboys 76-78-79 
DT -- Bob Lilly, Cowboys 71-72 
MLB -- Jack Lambert, Steelers 75-76-79-80 
OLB -- Rod Martin, Raiders 81-84 
OLB -- Chuck Howley, Cowboys 71-72 
CB -- Lester Hayes, Raiders 81-84 
CB -- Mel Blount, Steelers 75-76-79-80 
S -- Jake Scott, Dolphins 72-73-74 
S -- Willie Wood, Packers 67-68 
P -- Jerrel Wilson, Chiefs 67-70 

Voters: the 16 writers who have covered every Super Bowl. 

The writers are Si Burick, Dayton Daily News; Robert Burnes, formerly of the St. Louis Globe-Democrat; Dick Connor, Rocky Mountain News; Art Daly, formerly of The Green Bay Press-Gazette; Larry Felser, Buffalo Evening News; Mel Durslag, Los Angeles Herald-Examiner; Jerry Greene, Detroit News; Jerry Izenberg and Dave Klein, Newark Star-Ledger; Augie Lio, Passaic (N.J.) Herald-News; Will McDonough, Boston Globe; Norm Miller, New York Daily News; Bob Oates, Los Angeles Times; Edwin Pope, Miami Herald; Cooper Rollow, Chicago Tribune, and John Steadman, Baltimore News-American.
Credit: NFL Pro Set
 For a must-read on Super Bowl All-Star Teams Click HERE for Rick Gosselin's take.

edited to correct error 2/13/2022

No comments:

Post a Comment