Tuesday, February 20, 2018


Things You Can Never Lay Your Hands On 
by John Turney

Beginning in 1955 the Sporting News began awarding NFL executives an award for outstanding work in assembling and building a team. However, they abruptly ended the award after only two seasons. Then, in 1972, they began giving the award again and did so through 2012. In 1993 the Pro Football Writers of America began voting for the same award.

Recent Hall of Fame inductee Bill Polian appears numerous times. Ron Wolf, only once, however, he has likely received votes from his various stops in his NFL journey.

If this is any indication two-time Hall of Fame finalist George Young will be strongly considered for the "contributor" spot in 2016, and if not 2016 then soon thereafter. Hall of Fame contributors Jim Finks and Tex Schramm and Art Rooney and Dan Rooney also appear on these lists as recognition for their contributions to their success as administrators.

       NFL Executive of the Year  
Sporting News     Pro Football Writers Association
1955- Dan Reeves, Los Angeles Rams  No award
1956- George Halas, Chicago Bears  No award
1972- Dan Rooney, Pittsburgh  No award
1973- Jim Finks, Minnesota  No award
1974- Art Rooney, Pittsburgh  No award
1975- Joe Thomas, Baltimore Colts  No award
1976- Al Davis, Oakland  No award
1977- Tex Schramm, Dallas  No award
1978- John Thompson, Seattle  No award
1979- John Sanders, San Diego  No award
1980- Eddie LeBaron, Atlanta  No award
1981- Paul Brown, Cincinnati  No award
1982- Bobby Beathard, Washington  No award
1983- Bobby Beathard, Washington  No award
1984- George Young, New York Giants  No award
1985- Mike McCaskey, Chicago Bears  No award
1986- George Young, New York Giants  No award
1987- Jim Finks, New Orleans  No award
1988- Bill Polian, Buffalo  No award
1989- John McVay, San Francisco  No award
1990- George Young, New York Giants  No award
1991- Bill Polian, Buffalo  No award
1992- Ron Wolf, Green Bay  No award
1993- George Young, New York Giants George Young, New York Giants
1994- Carmen Policy, San Francisco Carmen Policy, San Francisco 49ers
1995- Bill Polian, Carolina Bill Polian, Carolina Panthers
1996- Bill Polian, Carolina Bill Polian, Carolina Panthers
1997- George Young, New York Giants George Young, New York Giants
1998- Jeff Diamond, Minnesota Front Office, Minnesota Vikings
1999- Bill Polian, Indianapolis Bill Polian, Indianapolis Colts
2000- Randy Mueller, New Orleans Randy Mueller, New Orleans Saints
2001- Dan Rooney, Pittsburgh Charley Armey, St. Louis Rams
2002- Bruce Allen, Oakland Al Davis, Oakland Raiders
2003- Scott Pioli, New England Scott Pioli, New England Patriots
2004- Scott Pioli, New England A.J. Smith, San Diego Chargers
2005- Art Rooney II, Pittsburgh Bill Polian, Indianapolis Colts
2006- Mickey Loomis, New Orleans Mickey Loomis, New Orleans Saints
2007- Ted Thompson, Green Bay Scott Pioli, New England Patriots
2008- Thomas Dimitroff, Atlanta Bill Parcells, Miami Dolphins
2009- Bill Polian, Indianapolis Bill Polian, Indianapolis Colts
2010- Thomas Dimitroff, Atlanta Scott Pioli, Kansas City Chiefs
2011- Ted Thompson, Green Bay Trent Baalke, San Francisco 49ers
2012- Ryan Grigson, Indianapolis Ryan Grigson, Indianapolis Colts
2013- No award John Dorsey, Kansas City Chiefs
2014- Steve Keim, Arizona Jerry Jones, Dallas Cowboys
2015- David Gettleman,  Carolina Mike Maccagnan, New York Jets
2016-Reggie McKenzie , Oakland             Reggie McKenzie, Oakland Raiders
2017-Howie Roseman, Philadelphia Howie Roseman, Philadelphia Eagles
2018-Ryan Pace, Chicago Chris Ballard, Indianapolis Colts
Sources: Pro Football Writers of America and Sporting News.

No comments:

Post a Comment