Monday, January 13, 2020

The 2019 Consensus All-Pro Team

By John Turney

As you may know, we reject the "AP-only" school of thought for NFL Awards. We prefer that "Consensus All-Pro" is a better measure, i.e., those who make the majority of the major All-Pro teams.

So, who are the "major" All-Pro teams? We use the ones in the 2011 NFL/NFLPA Collective Bargaining Agreement. Those are the AP, PFWA, and Sporting News. The AP and PFWA are polls of writers while Sporting News is, this year, a poll of the NFL's head coaches.

Here are the three major teams.

DeAndre Hopkins makes two of the three to edge Julio Jones. Michael Thomas is unanimous as is  Quenton Nelson, Jason Kelce, Lamar Jackson, Christian McCaffrey.

George Kittle, Ronnie Stanley, and Ryan Ramczyk are consensus choices.

The special teams picks are all unanimous.

Defensively both corners and safeties are unanimous and only the AP has a fifth defensive back and it was a three-way tie.  The defensive interior players are also unanimous as is Bobby Wagner as a MLB/LBer.

Cameron Jordan is a consensus pick (the AP doesn't pick defensive ends, just 'edge' players) making both the PFWA and SN squads. Danielle Hunter made the PFWA team and Joey Bosa made the SN team. So, we think tying those two makes sense and giving TJ Watt unanimous status for being an Edge in the AP poll and as a rushbacker (OLB) in the other two.

Chandler Jones was All-Pro on PFWA and SN and Second-team on the AP team.

We consider (as does the Hall of Fame) all the players from each of these three All-Pro teams as legitimate First-team All-Pro, but the chart at the top represents the consensus picks which is a tick above First-team All-Pro—the are Consensus All-Pros.

No comments:

Post a Comment